The Birth of Knox

I am so excited to announce that Knox Marshall Berry made his grand entrance into this world on Friday, February 24th at 4:59 pm! He is the cutest, chunkiest little guy and everyone is doing well! ❤

img_1468

On February 23 I had gone in for my 40 week appointment and had high blood pressure so it was decided that we would induce the next day. I was very nervous about an induction as I knew that my body was not showing any signs of being ready for delivery. I was only dilated to a 1 and 50% effaced so I was afraid that the induction process would be long and difficult. We checked into the hospital Thursday evening and tried Cervadil to ripen my cervix overnight but saw no change from that so that was also discouraging! But thankfully when we started the official induction on Friday my body responded well to just a small amount of pitocin which dilated me to a 3 in just a few hours, my doctor broke my water and after that things progressed very quickly! It wasn’t long before it was time to push!

Doctors and nurses thought the pushing would be quick and easy with this being my third baby but Knox had other ideas. This little guy had a big head and broad shoulders and we also think he was posterier for most of the labor which made pushing him out a long, tiring process. Once his head finally came out one of his shoulders got stuck under my pubic bone which created a very scary scenario. He was only stuck for about 50 seconds but it seemed like forever! With the help of the vacuum, a nurse, and some intense pushing, I finally got him out! When he was born he was rushed off to the NICU due to the difficult delivery.

Thankfully Knox just spent one night in the NICU and was released to his mommy and daddy’s room the next day. He was a little champ and was doing great! I rested and recovered in my room and the hospital gave Ben and Kristen their own room nearby with Knox. It was perfect!

img_1451
First picture with Mommy and Daddy. ❤

The kids were able to come to the hospital to see Knox on Saturday and that was such a great experience for them. They LOVED seeing him and it really helped them to understand the situation when they saw him with his mom and dad.

img_1469
The whole crew minus Knox’s big brother Blake.
img_1463
We joked that we headed home from the hospital with three of the world’s biggest babies. Ha! =)
img_1455
Holding Knox for the first time. He’s such a doll baby!! Look at that perfect little face!
img_1458
Me and Kristen. ❤

Knox and I were both released from the hospital on Sunday and I got to go home to my sweet babies and the Berry’s traveled home to their home state with their sweet baby.

So far I have been doing really well emotionally processing the surrogacy. I did a really good job of separating myself emotionally from Knox during the pregnancy. The mind is a powerful thing and I really worked the whole pregnancy to remember this was not my baby and I would not be coming home with a baby! When I held Knox in the hospital I really felt like I had just gone to visit a friend’s baby. I didn’t feel any attachment at all. It was amazing really! The kids have been doing really well too; I think we did a good job of preparing them and talking things through with them. They haven’t seemed bothered by it at all – they are just glad to have mommy back to themselves.

I am pumping for Knox and sending the Berry’s my breast milk -which I am so happy about! Because of that, the only thing this whole process had made me miss so far is nursing. I really loved nursing my babies so I’m feeling a bit nostalgic about that! =)

Being a surrogate has been an amazing and rewarding experience and I feel so much joy at having helped bring little Knox into this world. ❤

IMG_2512.JPG
My favorite picture of all! I love how surrogacy joined our two families together!
Leave a Reply

